Eagle Marin – Remake

marin_redone_stepsThis is in English because it is a special post and I’m too lazy to post in both English and Portuguese.😛

This is a remake I’ve done for Escher Girls. This amazing Tumblr made me laugh a lot, but also taught me about important things like observation to be a better artist, and the consequences of sexism and fanservice in animes/movies/games. As a female artist, I’m ashamed to say that I never took it so seriously before two facts: work in a game company and read Escher Girls.

So, here is Eagle Marin, from a card series called “Sacred Saga”, by Future Studio. As I told in my DA gallery, I have a special relationship with Saint Seiya (and Sailor Moon too), because they inspired me to draw more, and manga aesthetics influenced my art for years.

I don’t want to show myself as better than the artists from Future Studio or something like that, but I have to say this poor Marin is twisted in an inhuman way. I just wanted to fix her and put her in a correct postion – rear view or front view, not both at the same time!

I started by rear view, like her head and back are. I didn’t want to change the style, so her head is basicly the same. I had troubles with her feet, so I searched a lot of references to do them right. I also put some volume in her armor, to make it looks like a thin metal layer, not like a tissue ‘painted’ over the skin. I also made her proportions a little more realistic than the original.

After I made the front view, like her legs are; I also searched Shingo Araki‘s references to draw her like the anime style. I had the same issue with her feet (I googled references again and again). Same treatment to her proportions – and the head become smaller in the end.

I have no problem about sensuality and nudity in both genres, because I love to draw the human body. For this reason, I was remaking her ‘half-naked’ as the original image, but I thought this was kind of stupid – she appears dressed in anime! In my opinion Marin is not a sexy woman – Shina is sexier, even Aphrodite and Misty are sexier than her, LOL. To me, Marin is a strong female warrior (stronger than Seiya XD) so there is no need of fanservice here.

So, that’s it. The final remake is in my ‘oficial gallery’.

One thought on “Eagle Marin – Remake

Leave a Reply

